In Nesmy, the flour mill de Rambourg opens its doors to you for guaranteed immersion!
In its green setting, Rambourg is the only survivor of the forty water mills installed along the Yon.
Indeed, the conservation of the mill of Rambourg is remarkable. Its early modernization and maintenance allowed it to cease its milling activity only in 1981. It was at the beginning of the 1912th century, unlike the other mills in the Yon valley, that its work began. Mechanical grinders installed in 1956 as well as a milling machine installed in 1930 enabled it to increase its productivity and compete with the flour mills which will make the last mills disappear in the years 1950-XNUMX. Today, we recognize Rambourg as a veritable mill through its early and innovative modernization.
How does it work?
The paddle wheel, fed by the river, captures the driving force of the water to operate the various machines of the mill. Once the wheat has been sorted and cleaned, it is crushed and sifted several times (hence its name rework mill) to obtain bread-making flour.
The Romans knew the technique of the water mill from the 1250nd century. However, evidence of the existence of the Rambourg mill attests to around XNUMX.
The Rambourg mill opens its doors to individual visitors in the summer. Its opening for groups is possible all year round by reservation.
The activities offered by the Tourist Office highlight this site on the occasion of electric bike rides or during the "Au son de l'Yon" festival, on Thursdays in August.
To learn all about the life and work of the millers, follow the guide through the two floors of the mill. The path of the grain of wheat to become flour will have no more secrets for you.
Immerse yourself in the history of the last watermill in the valley!
All opening periods have passed. Please contact the owner directly for more information
|Individual rate adult
|Individual rate child Children from 4 to 18 years old
|Individual rate reduced People with disabilities, job seekers, students
|free Children under 4